Cool Random Tech Stuff

Random ramblings of a tech enthusiast

My Next Smartphone Dilemma

I was looking at a Nexus One as my first smartphone but that got cancelled for Verizon, and thus I went with the Droid Incredible, which is very similar in specs. I bought the phone because it was a leader in its hardware at the time and I knew it would last me a while. I have also rooted it to extend its use to me, but I think it is time to venture into a new phone with LTE and a dual-core processor.

Android options are the finally (to be) released Droid Bionic by Motorola, rumored Nexus Prime by Samsung, or the HTC Vigor. Motorola makes great hardware, but are not particularly friendly to the development community with encrypted bootloaders and such. The HTC Vigor is rumored right now and I know that the waiting game sucks! I would have gotten a Droid Bionic if it was released in the first half of the year, but now being close to the holiday season I’m considering waiting to see about the Nexus Prime.

The Nexus Prime would allow me to have the pure Google experience that is the Nexus line. I think that’s what I really want: control over my phone from the get go.

Then there is the iPhone 5, which is rumored might be available for multiple carriers in one device. I wrote about my obsession with this concept before. European countries and carriers are like this where you can move from provider to provider with the same phone. It appeals to me, but the US carrier system doesn’t do that yet. Maybe a feature like this in the iPhone could change my mind about getting an Apple.

There is also the Nokia Windows Phones that are going to be coming out any month now… Or any of the other Windows Phone 7 Mango handsets. I can honestly say that the Windows Phone 7 OS was one of the best I’ve used in function and appearance.

All in all, it seems I’ll be playing a waiting game for the device that fits my needs.

Leave a Reply

